Skip to content

I MISS JAMES ALTUCHER

October 2, 2008

well, I open my Tuesday Financial Times of a Wednesday when it arrives and now there is no guarantee that 1. there will be a Wealth page and 2. when there is a Wealth Page, there will be a James Altucher comment on it. He ranges a little and borders on the too personal, but it’s very human and when he finally turns to finance, it’s practical, mathematically sound, sensible advice that doesn’t appeal to people seeking out get rich quick schemes but would appeal to me if I hadn’t signed that piece of paper that said “I will not gamble…and that includes the stock market”(lack of uncommitted funds also helps with that). It’s a long story and does not involve bookies or bankruptcies or anything like that, just…well, like I said, long story. Ask Gayle (brilliant use of pass the buck there; she says can I have that in writing, I say yes, so she also gets all future questions.) Where was I? James Altucher.

Soon after I discovered ( a little surprised) that he was my favorite columnist, he wrote this brilliantly inspirational bit about insomnia and bad ideas. Of course, I was immediately struck by the superb use of the time added to one’s night by lack of sleep — probably the best time ever to come up with stupid ideas — and started to generate my own. The first one was introduce Financial Times columnist to Lonely Pond Productions, Inc. so I sent off an e-mail. Then they took on quite a range (and yes, that means I don’t remember where I put the list) but a memorable one toward the end of the ten requested suggested sort of a strip poker for people who stay to late at work…for every fifteen minute span after 5 p.m., you have to lose an article of clothing. I figured it would at least encourage the non exhibitionists/non voyeurs to go home on the next train. Time to start the new insomnia induced bad idea list: 1. Write rock opera about finance. I’ll list ’em as they come to me.

5 Comments
  1. I finally decided to write a comment on your blog. I just wanted to say good job. I really enjoy reading your posts.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. » I MISS JAMES ALTUCHER
  2. The Folding Fool » Blog Archive » I MISS JAMES ALTUCHER
  3. CAKE OR JAKE « Lonelypond Presents
  4. LONELYPOND PRESENTS » Blog Archive » CAKE OR JAKE

Leave a Reply

