Skip to content

RAINY WEEKEND

March 12, 2010

And what do you do on a rainy weekend?

I’m thinking: MOVIES. Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day has been sitting on top of the TV in its red Netflix envelope since before the Olympics. Time to watch. May also need to watch Steamboy (finally) as I’m hoping to arrange a Lego photo shoot with the person I borrowed it from (it’s for the GeekDad 88 Lines for 42 Geeks project; you should get involved.) Already finished two illustrations for it — I’m trying to learn to work with Inkscape but it’s getting increasingly frustrating. I think that may be a too much stuff on my computer issue.

Back to movies: An Education is playing on the big screen downtown (yes, we have one of those vintage movie theatres with a balcony. It’s great!) this weekend. Trying to convince Gayle to see it. She wasn’t thrilled by any of the Best Picture nominees this year.

New stuff: My nephew-in-law is in a band called Hollow Shoulder. So far, they’re up to two songs and preparing a t-shirt order. Check them out. I recommend listening to My Enemy.

Finally (been a little tempted since The Web Files covered the show in episode #26) caught The Bannen Way on Crackle. Actually, what I finally caught the first two episodes; have to purchase or rent the rest and I think I will. It’s fast, it’s fun, it’s stylish and I really enjoyed it. I like action, especially action with a wink and a fast car and an occasional brunette. The Bannen Way suits these requirements exactly.

Lightning Thief was an awful movie that butchered a fun book, left out major characters, altered several key features of the plot and just wasn’t any fun to watch at all. So I reread the book for last week’s book (I’m trying to read at least one book a week between now + the start of Merchant of Venice). Still fun. Still not Harry Potter but fun.

How To Train Your Dragon (also based on a series of books) looks like it will be a much better movie going experience. I may even smuggle in high end chocolate.

Gayle just showed up with lunch to start off the rainy weekend so enjoy your weekend. See a movie or something. Thanks for stopping by.

3 Comments
  1. Oh I’ve been wondering about Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day. Will you let us know how you like it?

    I’ve honestly become thoroughly disenchanted with movie adaptations of books. It’s so rare that I actually enjoy one. Yet I still keep watching them, hoping, lol.

    • I’ll post a review. I think that’s part of why it’s still sitting there, I don’t quite know what to expect.

      And yes, I know how you feel about movie adaptations.

    • The movie, which was lovely, made me want to read the book.

Leave a Reply

