Skip to content

I REALLY WANT AN ELECTRIC GUITAR

April 20, 2010

Or at least, I need to go to a concert.

The tangent stream: The Runaways the movie has led to Joan Jett the music mogul and taking a listen at the Blackheart Records artists. Which led to the Girl In a Coma (band name homage to The Smith’s Girlfriend in A Coma) Adventures in Coverland promotional e-mail in my inbox.

Just read an FT article about Right But Wrong, an exhibit of classic album cover art by Storm Thorgenson which also discussed whether or not covers retained any relevance in this day of the digital download. So album covers and their art and purpose have been on my mind. I’ve been considering taking out my camera and doing a series of album art cover shots for imaginary singles. It’s an interesting creative puzzle.

Then I open the Adventures in Coverland (did I mention, I’m also a sucker for a good pun — I could show you the t-shirts) e-mail and discover Blackheart Records is making a game of the 3 Coverland album covers (each album costs $1.99, includes two covers of songs that influenced the band and is also available on vinyl so it’s actually more single than album). Interesting strategy — plus, bonus way to promote the tour. Click through and besides seeing the game set up, you can sample their Coverland covers (see, I told you, punny), including The Beatles “While My Guitar Gently Weeps.”

So yes, here I am listening to their cover of David Bowie’s “As The World Falls Down” while mulling their contemporary cover interpretation and attempt to capture audience interest visually and interactively, as well as musically.

And I really want an electric guitar, although perhaps first I should pull my acoustic (love at first sight/touch) out of its case and give it a strum. That was always fun; it’s just the thought of taking CLASSES to learn to play that gives me a twitch.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

