Skip to content

COMICS BY ASSOCIATION

April 14, 2011

Ok, tall random stack of comics on my desk so I’m just going to go through and type what comes to mind from cover/title:

Young Allies: cancelled too soon, pretty good chemistry, stupid villian, more Nomad/Arana (now Spidergirl to no good effect) please.

Batman: Brave and The Bold: cheerful but predictable, a little wearing

Adventure Comics: tight, the kind of stories the regular Legion book should be telling

Legion of Superheroes: crowded, better since the writers were challenged by the Legion election results, Brainy drunk with power always good, miss fun interactions

Spidergirl: Boring, turned a vivacious character into an introverted tweetstream and can’t pick a story

Captain America: won’t be sad if Bucky’s not in the suit any longer; Steve Rogers excellent character always, solid perspective on America, values, responsibility

Atomic Robo: derivative, slow, maybe good for your first comic, but not exciting

Kato: didn’t catch my attention

Nomad back up feature (Captain America): irregular storytelling but a great character I will MISS (and grump about) if they’ve done away with her in Onslaught Unleashed

Captain America and The First Thirteen: obvious movie set up

Captain America and The Falcon: I love the Falcon but this book is weak

Power Man and Iron Fist (current team): enjoying the mix of personalities but don’t like the direction story/villain taking

Legion Of Supervillains: obvious set up issue

Jimmy Olsen: tight storytelling, lots of charm, nice score in the art department, great Amanda Conner cover, worried I’d spent too much money until I read it and then reread it twice.

Onslaught Unleashed: Good mix of characters, can follow the story even though I know nothing about Onslaught but don’t kill off Nomad Marvel. Thank you.

FF #1 (the new relaunch of The Fantastic Four after death of Johnny Storm): ok, but not ok enough to pick up #2

Legion of Superheroes Annual #1: A good villain, my favorite Legionnaires (Lightning Lass + Shrinking Violet) in their couple state but not the I want to reread it all night and then read every story Keith Giffen ever wrote about them experience I was hoping for.

Also have 2 Witchblade collections at the bottom of the pile, Christmas gifts from my brother. Enjoyed Witchblade: Witch Hunt, good detective story and character interaction, but Witchblade: Awakenings lost me in a mess of story trails and violence.

And at the bottom of the pile, I just found my sparkly magic markers, now I have something else to doodle with. Since I’m canceling Spidergirl, Birds of Prey lost me awhile ago (too much crying/inner doubt dialoguing, I believe) and Zatanna is the one superhero that Gayle twitches about, anyone have any suggestions for comics with female protagonists?

Caught Lopez Tonight with Prince, Sheila E and Rosario Dawson. Excellent show all around. Really enjoyed it. And danced.

Put on some Prince (or The Glamorous Life), read a comic, dance. And thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

