Skip to content
Tags

HAPPY FOURTH OF JULY

July 5, 2013

It’s my favorite holiday. Miss watching fireworks over Lake Michigan, but glad to celebrate the Declaration of Independence. Reread the beginning…still a solid view of the rights of citizens and the responsibilities of citizens to keep oppressive governments in check.

Very glad the Supreme Court decisions on DOMA and Proposition 8 didn’t leave me considering applying for asylum in Canada. There is still a long way to go, especially in the states that don’t allow marriage equality but it was a nice feeling to wake up and read that DOMA had been overturned.

Thinking about various things American today and remembering my favorite poet, Robert Frost and how I wore out his complete works as a teenager. Googled him, clicked on a site and didn’t have to go far down the alphabetized list to find one that always resonated (thank you poetry.org):

Acquainted with the Night

by Robert Frost

I have been one acquainted with the night.
I have walked out in rain—and back in rain.
I have outwalked the furthest city light.

I have looked down the saddest city lane.
I have passed by the watchman on his beat
And dropped my eyes, unwilling to explain.

I have stood still and stopped the sound of feet
When far away an interrupted cry
Came over houses from another street,

But not to call me back or say good-bye;
And further still at an unearthly height,
One luminary clock against the sky

Proclaimed the time was neither wrong nor right
I have been one acquainted with the night.

The Tempest is taking up so much time and brain space. Incorporating the dancers and another creative voice is a complexity added into one of Shakespeare’s most complex plays. Which is fascinating because The Tempest plays out pretty much in real time, but there are so many textures and emotional swings involved. And pronouns. Don’t get me started on the pronouns. Antecedent hunting is a constant actor activity.

Have been watching the NWSL when I can. Megan Rapinoe is back in the USA and playing for the Reign, which is fun to watch, but I have become an even bigger Seattle Reign fan from watching Jess Fishlock and Kaylyn Kyle making huge efforts early in the season, when the Reign were getting no breaks at all(and those two are still out there, pushing, but the goals and wins are finally coming). The Boston Breakers have been erratic, but I’m still cheering. And I still don’t understand why Sydney Leroux seems to be underrated by professional soccer pundit types.

Saw Despicable Me 2 today. Fast moving, sleek, fun comedy, nearly as much fun as the first. Laughed more than I did at Monsters University. Also enjoyed Epic, which is beautifully done. And The Internship cheered me up. Want to see White House Down but haven’t had a chance. Sorry that Joss Whedon’s Much Ado About Nothing isn’t in town, but I sometimes have a bad reaction to watching Shakespeare when I’m directing Shakespeare so maybe it’s for the best.

Finally have a Tempest logo I like. Going to switch it to purple and gold ink on a green shirt, Mardi Gras colors for the New Orleans mood.

TempestLogo

Good night. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

