Skip to content

IN THE BLEAK DECMBER

December 25, 2014

Reposted this from Tumblr. Hope your Christmas is a warm one, even if there’s snow.

Just put a historical mystery I’m very proud of writing up for purchase and reading on your Amazon Kindle. And now that’s checked off the to do list, there’s the next step. Find an audience besides me.

I wrote In The Bleak December because so many of the books with gay characters I read immediately after coming out were severely depressing. People wandering around in a hopeless harassed gloom. Books with only gay characters. To match the books with only straight characters. And then I read a book called The Well Of Loneliness and thought, no, no one should ever have to read that again. I wanted something like Agatha Christie’s Tommy and Tuppence Beresford or Ngaio Marsh’s Roderick Allen and Agatha Troy. Or anything by Jane Austen. Or what Lightning Lass and Shrinking Violet developed in the Legion of Superheroes. Something fun, action filled, literary, with the snappy patter and the not severely depressing ending. That’s me.

In The Bleak December started out set in Wyoming and called Glowing River Gulch. The plot involved aliens. The process of writing is a fascinating meander where your ideas meet the characters and something wonderful, new and strange develops. First there was the friend who insisted if I were writing about 19th century lesbian paranormal detectives, Bryn Mawr had to be involved. So I had to bump the date forward 50 years. But when I introduced the Baltimore and Edgar Allan Poe elements the book started to flow. I’m still hoping to get to Wyoming, in person and print. Growing up, I wanted to be the Lone Ranger. Jane has a little of that in her DNA.

And that’s your first glimpse into In The Bleak December, how writing happens for me and why. Next post: what I’m currently paying attention to. Give my book a read in the meantime. And have a merry Christmas.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

